Healio | HemOnc Today to Announce Disruptive Innovators

May 30, 2024

Thorofare, NJ — Healio is set to announce the winners of the 2024 oncology and hematology Disruptive Innovators Awards at a live event held during the American Society of Clinical Oncology Annual Meeting this Saturday, June 1. The Awards Reception will take place in the Regency Ballroom, within the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place in Chicago, Illinois.

The hosts, Shikha Jain, MD, FACP, and Mark A. Lewis, MD, will unveil nine new Disruptive Innovators at the reception. The winners were chosen by their own peers and colleagues, who recognize the impact the disruptors make to the field.

“As a former winner myself, it is exciting to pass the torch onto a new class of innovators,” said Lewis. “Dr. Jain and I eagerly look forward to seeing our peers come together and celebrate.”

The list of nominees is comprised of impressive physicians, researchers, institutions, and influencers:

  • Clinical Innovation Nominees: Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Intratumoral drug-releasing microdevices; Duke Cancer Institute, E-consult program for immune-related toxicities; Mount Sinai, Early mobility intervention program; Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, LIPU-MD; University of Miami, MRI-guided radiation therapy; University of Michigan, Histotripsy – or sound waves – for hepatocellular carcinoma
  • Next Gen Disruptor Nominees: Shraddha Dalwadi, MD, MBA; Nazli Dizman, MD; Tycel Phillips, MD; Nina Sanford, MD; Kekoa Taparra, MD, PhD; Ana Velázquez Mañana, MD, MSc
  • Lifetime Disruptor Nominees: Nancy E. Davidson, MD; Maha H. Hussain, MD; Hagop M. Kantarjian, MD, Karen E. Kim, MD, MS; Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD; Robert A. Winn, MD
  • Woman Disruptor of the Year Nominees: Charu Aggarwal, MD, PhD; Sophia George, PhD; Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil, FASCO, FASTRO; Elizabeth M. Nichols, MD; Aparna Parikh, MD, MS; Tatiana Prowell, MD
  • Healio Social Media Influencer Nominees: Erika Hamilton, MD, @ErikaHamilton9; Nicole Kuderer, MD, MS, FASCO, @nicolekuderer; Maryam Lustberg, MD, MPH, @maryam_lustberg; Oncology Brothers, @OncBrothers; Karine Tawagi, MD, @themdkitchen; Laura Vater, MD, @doclauravater
  • The Patient Voice Nominees: EGFR Resisters; Facing Our Risk of Cancer Empowered (FORCE); Friends of Cancer Research; Pancreatic Cancer Action Network; Pickles Group; The Pap Corps
  • Health Equity Award Nominees: Don S. Dizon, MD; Macarena de la Fuente, MD; Loretta Erhunmwunsee, MD; Nathalie D. McKenzie, MD; Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, MD, FAACR; Karen M. Winkfield, MD, PhD
  • Advanced Practitioner of the Year Nominees: Scott Cackler, MPAS, MBA, PA-C; Beth Faiman, PhD, MSN, APRN-BC, AOCN; Lauren Ghazal, PhD, FNP-BC; Kelly Haviland, PhD, RN, FNP-BC; Cynthia A. Koutz, PA-C; Ashley Leak Bryant, PhD, MSN, RN, OCN, FAAN
  • Industry Breakthrough Nominees: Belzutifan (Welireg, Merck); Fruquintinib (Fruzaqla, Takeda Pharmaceuticals); Lovotibeglogene autotemcel (Lyfgenia, Bluebird Bio); Talazoparib (Talzenna, Pfizer); Talquetamab-tgvs (Talvey, Janssen); Toripalimab-tpzi (Loqtorzi; Coherus Biosciences, Shanghai Junshi Biosciences)

The Healio Disruptive Innovators Awards will be preceded by the #ASCO24 Tweet-Up, which begins at 5:30 PM in the same location. To register for the awards ceremony, or to learn about past winners, please visit Healio.com/Innovators.


About Healio

Healio is a multichannel information platform, providing health care specialists with tailored news, information and education in support of their daily practice of medicine. Healio’s core News, CME and Clinical Guidance channels deliver practical information and education across 21+ specialties. For more information, visit Healio.com.