Healio | HemOnc Today to Announce Disruptive Innovators

June 01, 2023

Thorofare, NJ — Healio is set to announce the winners of the 2023 hematology/oncology Disruptive Innovators Awards during a live event held during the American Society of Clinical Oncology Annual Meeting this Saturday, June 3. The Awards Reception will take place at The TAP, within the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place in Chicago, Illinois.

Nine new Disruptive Innovators will be revealed at the reception. The winners were chosen by their own peers and colleagues, with a record number of votes from hematologists and oncologists.

“We see the high number of votes as a testament to true peer-to-peer support and the quality of the nominees,” said Edward Kim, MD, MBA, FACP, FASCO. Kim will co-host the event alongside Shikha Jain, MD, FACP.

The list of nominees is comprised of impressive physicians, researchers, institutions, and influencers:

  • Clinical Innovation Nominees: CancerVar, Marilyn M. Li, MD, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia; Christiana Care/Helen F. Graham Cancer Center & Research Institute; theMednet, led by Nadine Housri, MD; Huntsman at Home, Huntsman Cancer Institute at University of Utah; SOPHIE, The University of Rochester; Memorial Sloan Kettering Affordability Working Group, led by Emeline Aviki, MD, MBA, FACOG
  • Next Gen Disruptor Nominees: Matthew Frigault, MD; Shakira J. Grant, MBBS; Brendan T. Heiden, MD, MPHS; Ravi Parikh, MD, MPP; Ryan Huu-Tuan Nguyen, DO; Shraddha Dalwadi, MD, MBA
  • Lifetime Disruptor Nominees: Nancy E. Davidson, MD; Otis W. Brawley, MD, MACP; Carl H. June, MD; Julie R. Gralow, MD, FACP, FASCO; Paul G. Richardson, MD; Edith P. Mitchell, MD, FACP, FCPP, FRCP
  • Woman Disruptor of the Year Nominees: Monica M. Bertagnolli, MD, FACS, FASCO; Barbara L. McAneny, MD, FASCO, MACP; Ann H. Partridge, MD, MPH; Rachna Shroff, MD; Debra Patt, MD, PhD, MBA, FASCO; Karen E. Kim, MD, MS
  • Healio Social Media Influencer Nominees: Gilberto Lopes, MD, @GLopesMD; Matthew Katz, MD, @subatomicdoc; Tatiana Prowell, MD, @tmprowell; Mike Thompson, MD, PhD, FASCO, @MTMDPhD; Sanjay Juneja, MD, @TheOncDoc; Eleonora Teplinsky, MD, @DrTeplinsky
  • The Patient Voice Nominees: Friends of Cancer Research; Leukemia & Lymphoma Society; LUNGevity Foundation; Pancreatic Cancer Action Network; Dr. Susan Love Foundation; Pickles Group
  • Health Equity Award Nominees: Samer Al Hadidi, MD, MS, FACP; Karen Winkfield, MD, PhD; Robert A. Winn, MD; Nathalie D. McKenzie, MD; Rayne H. Rouce, MD; Don S. Dizon, MD; Joseph Alvarnas, MD
  • Advanced Practitioner of the Year Nominees: Erica Fischer-Cartlidge, DNP, CNS, AOCNS, EBP-C; Scott Cackler, MPAS, MBA, PA-C; Mary M. Pasquinelli, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, CTTS; Cynthia A. Koutz, PA-C; Christopher R. Friese, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN; Betty Ferrell, PhD, MSN, CHPN
  • Industry Breakthrough Nominees: Adagrasib (Krazati, Mirati Therapeutics); ENHERTU® (Fam-trastuzumab deruxtecan-nxki; Daiichi Sankyo, AstraZeneca); Ciltacabtagene autoleucel (Carvykti; Janssen, Legend Biotech); Mosunetuzumab-axgb (Lunsumio, Genentech); Pacritinib (Vonjo, CTI BioPharma); Sotorasib (Lumakras, Amgen)

To register for this exclusive live event, or to learn about past winners, please visit Healio.com/Innovators.


About Healio

Healio is a multichannel information platform, providing health care specialists with tailored news, information and education in support of their daily practice of medicine. Healio’s core News, CME and Clinical Guidance channels deliver practical information and education across 21+ specialties. For more information, visit Healio.com.